Breaking News
More () »

HISD adds 57 schools to the New Education System (NES) initiative to receive additional support

Superintendent Mike Miles said school leaders from those schools voluntarily opted in for the initiative to "transform their campuses" in the upcoming school year.

HOUSTON — Dozens of HISD schools have been added to the list that will take part in the New Education System (NES), Superintendent Mike Miles announced this morning.

He said 57 additional school leaders have now opted in for the NES initiative. 

The HISD leadership team decided to give schools the option to voluntarily join the initiative that Miles said will "transform their campuses" in the upcoming school year. He said they made the move after principals not included in the original 28 NES campuses requested support at their schools.

“I was pleasantly surprised when several principals embraced whole school systemic reform early and asked to be included in the New Education System,” said Miles. “I am overwhelmingly proud that this many HISD school leaders are ready to take bold action to improve outcomes for all students and eradicate the persistent achievement and opportunity gaps in our district.”

Parents and teachers from the original 28 schools chosen by Miles and the leadership team have been vocal critics of the program during public meetings. Some principals at those schools have already been replaced and teachers must re-apply for their jobs.

Miles said the new list includes a diverse cross-section of schools, including some that have traditionally performed well and others that have had challenges. 

  • 36 Elementary Schools
  • 10 Middle Schools
  • 9 High Schools
  • 2 Specialty Schools

“This is one more clear signal that HISD educators are ready for change. They know our children can’t wait, and they want to be able to prepare their students for the workplace and world of 2035,” Miles added. “As a district, we have an obligation to help them do just that.”

Houston Federation of Teachers President Jackie Anderson said she's heard from administrators that they feel as though their hands are tied.

"It's like the lesser of two evils," she said. "They think that they're going to get more support by joining the NES model. And you shouldn't have to join an NES model for your school to be supported.

57 HISD schools opt into NESA

  • Cage Elementary
  • Franklin Elementary
  • Gallegos Elementary
  • Harris RP Elementary
  • Looscan Elementary
  • Oates Elementary
  • Port Houston Elementary
  • Robinson Elementary
  • Whittier Elementary
  • Burrus Elementary
  • Coop Elementary
  • Durkee Elementary
  • Kennedy Elementary
  • Northline Elementary
  • Osborne Elementary
  • Smith Elementary
  • Wainwright Elementary
  • Alcott Elementary
  • Blackshear Elementary
  • Bonner Elementary
  • Brookline Elementary
  • DeZavala Elementary
  • Gregg Elementary
  • Harris JR Elementary
  • Hartsfield Elementary
  • Hobby Elementary
  • Lewis Elementary
  • Lockhart Elementary
  • Rucker Elementary
  • Seguin Elementary
  • Thompson Elementary
  • Whidby Elementary
  • Young Elementary
  • Ashford Elementary
  • Benavidez Elementary
  • Bonham Elementary
  • Edison Middle
  • Holland Middle
  • Project Chrysalis Middle
  • M.C. Williams Middle
  • Cullen Middle
  • Hartman Middle
  • Lawson Middle
  • Fondren Middle
  • Revere Middle
  • Furr High
  • Houston MSTC High
  • Scarborough High
  • Washington High
  • Madison High
  • Sterling High
  • Worthing High
  • Yates High
  • Wisdom High
  • Reagan K-8 Ed Center
  • Long Academy
  • Las Americas Newcomer

WATCH: Mike Miles answers questions about NES

HISD's original list of 28 NES schools

  • Atherton ES – Alynthia Curtis
  • Berry ES – Alvaro Montelongo
  • Bruce ES – Lauren Hooks
  • Cook ES – Shundra Harris-Mosley
  • Dogan ES – Rim Mohamed
  • Eliot ES – Cortney Richa-Herbert
  • Elmore ES – Tanya Webb
  • Henderson ES – Kristi Taylor
  • Highland Heights ES – Bettina McKinney
  • Hilliard ES – Erika Kimble
  • Isaacs ES – Carmen Colunga-Spencer
  • Kashmere Gardens ES – Marques Collins
  • Marshall ES – Lauren K. Price
  • Martinez R. ES – April Coleman Hernandez
  • McGowan ES – Stephanie Lugo Velez
  • Pugh ES – Keith Garcia
  • Roderick Paige ES – Marilou Alcaraz
  • Scroggins ES – Dianna Balderas
  • Shadydale ES – Pandora Agnew
  • Fleming MS – Devin Adams
  • Forest Brook MS – Alicia Lewis
  • Henry MS – Erika Vigil
  • Key MS – Jennifer Murchison
  • McReynolds MS – Chastity Caesar
  • Sugar Grove MS – Noe Ortega
  • Kashmere HS – Brandon Dickerson
  • North Forest HS – Marie Adams
  • Wheatley HS – Sabrina Cuby-King

Before You Leave, Check This Out