Breaking News
More () »

Houston's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Houston, Texas | KHOU.com

Justin Verlander wins 2019 American League Cy Young Award

For Verlander, it's his second Cy Young award.
Credit: AP
Houston Astros starting pitcher Justin Verlander celebrates after the last out in the top of the sixth inning against the New York Yankees in Game 2 of baseball's American League Championship Series Sunday, Oct. 13, 2019, in Houston. (AP Photo/Matt Slocum)

HOUSTON — It was a close race, but Justin Verlander has won the 2019 Cy Young Award winner, edging out 2019 Astros teammate Gerrit Cole.

For Verlander, it was his second Cy Young Award. His first was in 2011 as a member of the Detroit Tigers.

The Astros righty had a 21-6 record with a 2.58 ERA and 300 strikeouts this season.

Cole finished second in voting.  Former Astros pitcher Charlie Morton finished third. It's the first time teammates finished first and second in American League Cy Young voting.

It's the second postseason award for an Astros player.  Earlier this week, Yordan Alvarez won Rookie of the Year.  American League MVP will be announced tomorrow, with Astros third-baseman Alex Bregman a finalist.

RELATED: Astros' Yordan Alvarez wins AL Rookie of the Year

RELATED: Astros owner Jim Crane hires his son and Reid Ryan has new role with team


Send us a news tipDownload our app#HTownRush Newsletter