SAN ANTONIO -- Ever since the Tucson massacre local concealed handgun courses have been flooded with students from all walks of life and all ages with one exception: teenagers.
The reason is in Texas one must be at least 21 years old to carry a concealed handgun.
The National Rifle Association (NRA), along with Lubbock teenager James D'Cruz, have sued the state to lower the age requirement from 21 to 18.
With the recent events such as what happened as Tucson, some say it's a matter of safety.
I guess there has to be a fine line, said gun owner Leo Sanchez. Some people are responsible enough. Others are too young. They may have to figure out guidelines to distinguish between the two.
While safety is an argument for lowering the age requirement, it is also an argument to keep the law at 21 years old.
Rev. John Feagins, the director of United Methodist Campus Ministry, said he worries about the potential problems that could arise with too many teenagers with guns.
I think it might create fear among the people in authority - teachers, professors - wondering if the person they are having a conflict with is carrying a concealed handgun, he said.
The exceptions to the Texas C.H.L. age requirement rule are active military members and veterans under the age of 21. They are allowed to apply for a C.H.L.