x
Breaking News
More () »

Houston's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Houston, Texas | KHOU.com

Texans have until April 14 to renew vehicle title and registration

Texans have until the end of the day on April 14 to complete overdue transactions, the Texas DMV said. There is no grace period after the deadline.

TEXAS, USA — Texans with an expired vehicle title and registration have until April 14 to renew without potentially facing a penalty, according to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). 

On March 16, 2020, Gov. Greg Abbott signed an order waiving certain vehicle title and registration requirements. That order is set to expire on April 14. After April 14, law enforcement may begin issuing citations to motorists with expired vehicle registrations. There is no grace period after the deadline, according to TxDMV. 

TxDMV is also reminding Texans to complete any overdue transactions now.

Here's how you can renew your registration: 

TxDMV has laid out three different ways for Texans to update their vehicle registration: 

  • Online: Visit TxDMV.gov or www.Texas.gov. This is the quickest and least expensive way to renew. You can save $1 if you renew online. Online renewal is available up to nine months past your registration expiration date.
  • Mail: Return the bottom portion of your registration renewal form, payment and other required information to your county tax assessor-collector. Motorists choosing to renew by mail need to allow adequate time for mail delivery and processing.
  • In Person: Visit the office of your county tax assessor-collector. In many counties, in-person renewal is also available at other locations, such as certain grocery stores. Contact your county tax office to check hours and locations. The Travis County Tax Office said on April 8 that those with vehicle registrations expired by over nine months may walk-in at their main office before the April 14 deadline. Walk-ins will need to bring their signed, vehicle inspection document and insurance card.  

Important reminder: Texans will need to get a passed vehicle inspection before applying for a registration renewal unless the vehicle is exempt from inspection requirements.

According to TxDMV, the expiring temporary waiver covers the following services:

  • Initial vehicle registration
  • Vehicle registration renewal
  • Vehicle titling
  • Renewal of permanent disabled parking placards
  • 30-day temporary permits

TxDMV does not cover services such as issuing driver's licenses or state ID cards. Texans needing to renew a driver's license or state ID should contact Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

Drivers who need to book appointments to renew expired licenses after April 14 can request a temporary driving permit that will remain valid until their renewal appointment date. The DPS cannot determine what action an officer or court may take if someone is stopped while driving with an expired license.

WATCH: Texas DPS appointments stretch into 2021

PEOPLE ARE ALSO READING: 

LIST: Austin pools open ahead of 90-degree weather

Revamped HOPE Outdoor Gallery set to reopen this summer near Austin airport

LIST: Here's where you can sign up for a COVID-19 vaccine waiting list in Austin