HOUSTON — Houston Police are serious when they say not to text and drive.
Chief Art Acevedo tweeted Thursday HPD has issued 700 tickets for the offense since January of this year.
Texas’ law regarding texting while driving went into effect in Texas Sept. 1, 2017.
Houston Police say getting a citation can be costly.
For first time offenders, fines range from $25 to $99. Subsequent offenses can lead to a $200 fine. Drivers can be fined up to $4,000 if an accident or injury is caused by texting while driving.