Breaking News
More () »

11Alive wins three National Edward R. Murrow Awards

11Alive awarded more National Murrow Awards than any other large market television station this year.

2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards

ATLANTA -- The Radio Television and Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the National Edward R. Murrow Award winners Tuesday, and WXIA-TV/11Alive was awarded with three national awards, the most of any large market television station this year.

The RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the "excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession," per the RTDNA.

Chief Investigative Reporter Brendan Keefe won the Investigative Reporting award for Smart ALEC: The Backroom Where Laws Are Born, and the Continuing Coverage award for 911: Lost on the Line.

Reporter and Anchor Jaye Watson won the Best Writing award.

"Already this year the talented and hardworking journalists at 11Alive received the most local Emmys and GABBY's in Atlanta as well as a Peabody Award for investigative reporting. It's really no surprise that this team has now won an unprecedented three national Edward R. Murrow Awards, but we are very humbled and honored by this recognition," said 11Alive President and General Manager, John Deushane.

11Alive was also awarded six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, which were announced in April.