THE WOODLANDS, Texas The Insperity Invitational will be celebrating its 11th anniversary as the tournament once again is attracting one of the strongest fields on the Champions Tour schedule.

The tournament runs from April 28 through May 4 with Esteban Toledo set to defend his title.

Last year, Toledo not only became the first Mexican to win on the Champions Tour but it marked his first career victory after many years playing under the PGA Tour umbrella.

Toledo defeated Gene Sauers and Mike Goodes in a thrilling playoff on The Woodlands Country Club Tournament course. And it all happened on Cinco de Mayo.

Joining Toledo will be six past champions of Houston s Champions Tour event Mark McNulty (2005), Jay Haas (2006), Bernhard Langer (2007, 2008), John Cook (2009), Brad Faxon (2011) and Fred Funk (2012).

In addition, five World Golf Hall of Fame members are currently in the field: Tom Kite, Nick Price, Langer, Curtis Strange and Colin Montgomerie.

This year begins a new era for the tournament in regards to how the field of 81 competitors will be eligible. There are eight categories of eligibility in the invitational format, making this event unique on the Champions Tour schedule.

Once again we are hearing many positive comments from the Champions Tour players as they prepare to come to the Houston area in a few weeks, said Insperity Invitational Executive Director Bryan Naugle. Our format as an invitational will assure fans will have a chance to watch the best players age 50 and over not only from those living in the United States but from around the world.

In addition to this legendary group of players, all of the top-20 from the 2013 Champions Tour money list are scheduled to compete and 20 players from the All-Time money list are in the field.

Players from these two groups include Rocco Mediate, Peter Senior, Corey Pavin, Mark Calcavecchia, Craig Stadler, Hal Sutton and rookies Billy Andrade and Jeff Maggert.

Also in the field will be the Champions Tour Player-of-the-Year for each season since 2006. This includes Haas (2006, 2008), Loren Roberts (2007, 2009), Langer (2010), Tom Lehman (2011, 2012) and Kenny Perry (2013).

The Insperity Invitational offers free grounds only admission tickets courtesy of Insperity, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Woodforest National Bank and HP. The grounds ticket also includes free parking and shuttle service. For updated information on all aspects of the Insperity Invitational, fans are encouraged to visit

Read or Share this story: