Show Thumbnails
Show Captions

HOUSTON -- University of Houston quarterback Case Keenum is the winner of the 2011 Sammy Baugh Award, presented annually to college football s top passer.

The honor was announced Thursday.

I want to thank everyone at the Touchdown Club of Columbus for this incredible honor, Keenum said. This is certainly a special award, one I am proud to share with my teammates and coaches. A lot of people helped contribute to those touchdowns and those yards, so this is a meaningful honor for our entire program.

Keenum capped a record-breaking regular season with 457 yards and five touchdown throws in the Conference USA West Division-clinching win at Tulsa.

In his senior season, Keenum broke NCAA records for career passing yardage (18,312), total offense (19,217), touchdown passes (150), total touchdowns (173), completions (1,460) and 300-yard games (37).

The Cougar quarterback owns virtually every NCAA career passing mark and is just 274 yards shy of becoming the first player in NCAA history with three career 5,000-yard seasons.

Keenum also won the Sammy BaughAward in 2009 and is just the second two-time winner. Baylor quarterback Don Trull won back-to-back seasons in 1962 and 1963.

Named in honor of former Texas Christian and Washington Redskins great Sammy Baugh, the trophy was first presented in 1959 and has been held by legendary passers including Steve Young, John Elway, Bob Griese and last year s winner, Landry Jones of Oklahoma.

Keenum is also a finalist for the Walter Camp Foundation player of the year. Other finalists are quarterbacks Andrew Luck of Stanford, Robert Griffin III of Baylor, Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu.

The winner will be announced Dec. 8.

Read or Share this story: