HOUSTON, TX The Astros have set their 2011 Opening Day 25-man roster, General Manager Ed Wade announced this evening.

The following non-roster players have been reassigned to the minor leagues: LHP Gustavo Chacin, C Carlos Corporan, IF Anderson Hernandez, IF Oswaldo Navarro, OF J.B. Shuck, RHP Jose Valdez and RHP Ross Wolf.  RHP Henry Villar was optioned to the minor leagues as well.  Prior to tonight s game, the Astros reassigned IF Tommy Manzella to Triple A Oklahoma City and announced plans to designate LHP Ryan Rowland-Smith for assignment on Thursday.

Wade also announced that, effective Thursday, the Astros plan to purchase the contract of IF Joe Inglett.

When all transactions become official prior to Friday s season opener,  the Astros 25-man roster will consist of two catchers, twelve pitchers, six infielders and five outfielders.

Wade also announced that the following players have been placed on the Major League Disabled List: RHP Alberto Arias (right shoulder surgery), IF Clint Barmes (left hand fracture), C Jason Castro (right knee surgery) and IF Jeff Keppinger (left foot surgery). Barmes DL stint is retroactive to March 26, while the others are retroactive to March 22.  

When all transactions become official before Friday s season opener, the Astros roster will be as follows:

Pitchers: LHP Fernando Abad, RHP Enerio Del Rosario, RHP Nelson Figueroa, RHP Jeff Fulchino, LHP J.A. Happ, RHP Wilton Lopez, RHP Brandon Lyon, RHP Mark Melancon, RHP Brett Myers, RHP Bud Norris, RHP Aneury Rodriguez and LHP Wandy Rodriguez.

Catchers: Humberto Quintero and J.R. Towles

Infielders: Matt Downs, Bill Hall, Joe Inglett,  Chris Johnson, Angel Sanchez and Brett Wallace.

Outfielders: Jason Bourgeois, Michael Bourn, Carlos Lee, Jason Michaels and Hunter Pence

Note - Once the 25-man Major League roster becomes official on Thursday, the Astros 40-man roster will be at 38.

Read or Share this story: