Astros invite Appel, Correa to spring training

Astros invite Appel, Correa to spring training

Credit: Getty Images

HOUSTON, TX - JUNE 19: Houston Astros general manager Jeff Luhnow (R) introduces first overall draft pick Mark Appel to the media after signingAppel to the team prior to the start of the game between the Milwaukee Brewers and the Houston Astros at Minute Maid Park on June 19, 2013 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)


by Daniel Gotera / KHOU 11 Sports

Posted on January 14, 2014 at 7:29 PM

HOUSTON – The Houston Astros have announced their non-roster invitees for Spring Training and among them are the team’s last two number one overall draft picks.

Short-stop Carlos Correa and right-handed pitcher Mark Appel are one of 24 players that will be making the trip to Kissimmee in February.

Other notable players invited were OF Delino DeShields Jr., OF George Springer, OF J.D. Martinez and RHP Mike Foltynewicz.

Springer is the standout of the group. The 3rd year player out of Connecticut was named 2013 Astros Minor League Player of the Year after combining to hit .303 with 106 runs scored, 27 doubles, 37 home runs, 108 RBI and 45 stolen bases with Oklahoma City and Corpus Christi last season.

Correa, 19, will be the youngest player at camp for the Astros. He was drafted first overall in 2012. During his first year at Quad Cities, he posted a .320 (144x450) batting average with 33 doubles, nine home runs and 86 RBI in 117 games.

Appel was the number one overall pick in the 2013 MLB Draft. After being selected, he played in 10 games for Quad City and Class A Tri City combining to post a 3-1 record and a 3.79 ERA.

In addition to the players already in the organization that were invited to camp, the team announced the signing of 4 free agents, OF Adron Chambers, IF Cesar Izturis, RHP Peter Moylan and IF Gregorio Petit.

Here is the full list of minor league players being invited to camp.

IF Japhet Amador
RHP Mark Appel
RHP Jake Buchanan
IF Carlos Correa
RHP Rhiner Cruz
RHP Jorge De Leon
OF Delino DeShields
RHP Bobby Doran
RHP Mike Foltynewicz
C Rene Garcia
C Tyler Heineman
OF Leo Heras
OF J.D. Martinez
IF Jonathan Meyer
C Carlos Perez
OF George Springer
RHP Jason Stoffel
IF Ronald Torreyes
RHP Nick Tropeano
OF Preston Tucker