We've all experienced it. Someone cutting you off and didn't even give you a heads up. So what is required of drivers when they change lanes?
Our Verify fact-checkers went to the Texas Traffic Code. Here's what we found:
- According to the law, Texas drivers are supposed to use their turn signal whether they are turning or changing lanes - one hundred feet before they do it.
- For reference, 100 feet is about 2-thirds the length of an Olympic swimming pool. It's also the distance a car traveling 35 miles per hour covers in two seconds.
- If you fail to signal appropriately, or at all, you could get a ticket.
Help our journalists VERIFY the news. Do you know someone else we should interview for this story? Did we miss anything in our reporting? Is there another story you'd like us to VERIFY? Click here.
© 2018 WTLV-TV