Supersized! November supermoon will be biggest in nearly 70 years

A record-breaking supermoon will brighten the night sky later this month.

The November full moon is not only the closest full moon of 2016, NASA said, but also the closest full moon since 1948 (which is still the last time the Cleveland Indians won the World Series).

This is one you might want to watch out for: The full moon won’t come this close to Earth again until Nov. 25, 2034, NASA says.

The moon will look plenty full and bright all night on Nov. 13 and 14 as it rises in the east around sunset, climbs highest around midnight and then sets in the west at or near sunrise, EarthSky reports.

The exact moment of the full moon is the morning of Nov. 14 at 8:52 a.m. EST, (7:52 a.m. CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, and 5:52 a.m. PST), Space.com said.

The moon will reach perigee – the moon’s closest point to Earth for this month – within about 90 minutes of that time. EarthSky said.

A supermoon occurs when the moon is slightly closer to Earth than it typically is, and the effect is most noticeable when it occurs around the same time as a full moon.

It can appear 14% bigger and 30% brighter than usual, according to NASA.

The word supermoon was coined in 1979 by astrologer Richard Nolle, AccuWeather's Mark Paquette says. Nolle used the term to describe a new or full moon that occurs when the moon is at or near its closest approach to Earth.

Instead of a supermoon, astronomy site Slooh.com is calling it a "mega beaver moon," which includes the moon's folklore name for November.

According to the Old Farmer's Almanac, the November moon was named the beaver moon partly because, “for both the colonists and the Algonquin tribes, this was the time to set beaver traps before the swamps froze, to ensure a supply of warm winter furs.”

Contributing: Mary Bowerman, USA TODAY

Follow @MaryBowerman on Twitter. Follow Doyle Rice at @USATODAYWeather


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment