FORT WORTH, Texas — Texas A&M quarterback Trevor Knight was named one of 18 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award on Thursday, which is given annually to the best college quarterback.

The 18 semifinalists, in alphabetical order, are: J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Jake Browning (Washington), Sam Darnold (USC), Jerod Evans (Virginia Tech), Luke Falk (Washington State), Jalen Hurts (Alabama), Chad Kelly (Ole Miss), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Trevor Knight (Texas A&M), Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Wilton Speight (Michigan), Zach Terrell (Western Michigan), Mitch Trubisky (North Carolina), Greg Ward Jr. (Houston), Deshaun Watson (Clemson) and Davis Webb (California).

Knight, a graduate transfer from San Antonio, Texas, has earned weekly honors from the Davey O’Brien Award twice in 2016. He was named National QB of the Week award for his play in the Aggies’ win over Arkansas on Sept. 24 and he was one of the Award’s “Great 8” weekly honorees after the team’s road victory over Auburn on Sept. 17.

Knight suffered a shoulder injury last week and is out for the rest of the regular season, according to Aggie head coach Kevin Sumlin. Through 10 games, Knight has generated 2,494 total yards with 583 rushing yards and 1,911 passing yards. He was responsible for 23 touchdowns, including a SEC-best 10 rushing touchdowns and 13 passing scores. Knight was one of seven Football Bowl Subdivision quarterback that have produced at least 500 rushing yards, 1,500 passing yards and 2,000 total yards in 2016.

FBS QBs with 500/1,500/2,000

Player, School

Rush / Pass / Total

Lamar Jackson, UL


Quinton Flowers, SF


Jerod Evans, VT


Nick Fitzgerald, MSST


J.T. Barrett, OhSU


Trevor Knight, TAMU


Jalen Hurts, ALA


SEC Rushing TD Leaders

Player, School


Rushing TD

Trevor Knight, TAMU



Jalen Hurts, ALA



Benjamin Snell Jr., UK



The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the best college quarterback, and is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the foundation’s national selection committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

After clearing the first round totals, the fan vote at will reopen today (Nov. 10) and remain open until noon (CT) on Sunday, Nov. 22, for the second round of balloting. Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation’s best college quarterback as often as once daily per email address.

In conjunction with ESPN, the Davey O’Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 8.

Previous winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014) and Watson (Clemson, 2015).